Building capacities of HIV researchers in SADC states​


States in the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC) are at the epicentre of the AIDS pandemic. In a project from 2014 to 2016, CIET trained HIV researchers and planners from 14 of the 15 SADC member states: ten Anglophone member states (Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, Seychelles, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe), two Francophone member states (Democratic Republic of Congo and Madagascar), and two Lusophone member states (Angola and Mozambique).

Member states nominated participants to attend three-week intensive training courses, in Gaborone, Botswana, in English (20), French (12) and Portuguese (12). CIET/PRAM faculty prepared materials for online learning and led in-person classroom sessions. The courses covered basics of epidemiology and statistics for planning, participatory research approaches, and knowledge translation. Following a needs assessment among heads of national AIDS authorities (NAAs), the heads of these authorities attended a three-day executive workshop on Adaptive Management in Gaborone, Botswana. Of the 14 NAAs attending, 10 were represented by the head of the NAA in person, and two by the deputy head. The project continued to mentor course participants, and many went on to senior positions within the HIV planning mechanisms in their countries.

Funding: HIV fund of the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC)
Dates: 2014-2016